Kabateck Brian  
Brian S. Kabateck

Founding and Managing Partner

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Phone | 213.217.5000

Fax | 213.217.5010

Download vCard
Recognized by his peers as one of the nation's leading consumer attorneys, Brian Kabateck has helped his clients obtain more than $1 billion in recovery.  Mr. Kabateck has received numerous multi-million dollar verdicts, judgments, and settlements on behalf of his clients, handling claims ranging from personal injury, insurance bad faith, pharmaceutical litigation, wrongful death, class actions, mass torts, and disaster litigation. He has been recognized as one of the most influential lawyers in California by the Daily Journal, California Lawyer and Capitol Weekly.

As the current President of the Consumer Attorneys of California, Mr. Kabateck has furthered his commitment to the protection of consumer rights.  As the head of the nation’s largest state trial lawyer organization, Mr. Kabateck is determined to preserve California's civil justice system for all its residents.  Having been a nationally-recognized leader of consumer protection, Mr. Kabateck has worked with the California Legislature and California Department of Insurance to draft numerous laws in some of the state's most vital industries.

Mr. Kabateck has extensive experience in all judicial forums throughout California.  He has argued cases before the California State Supreme Court, California Court of Appeal, Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, and the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals.

Honors and Recognition
  • Capitol Weekly's Top 100 - 2013
  • Southern California SuperLawyer, Top 100 in Southern California - 2012, 2013
  • Daily Journal Top 100 Lawyer in California - 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013
  • Finalist, Trial Lawyer of the Year, Consumer Attorneys of California - 2005, 2010, 2012
  • Finalist, Consumer Attorneys Association of Los Angeles, Trial Lawyer of the Year - 2012
  • National Trial Lawyers, Top 100 in California - 2010 to present
  • Top 100 Influential Trial Lawyers in the United States - 2011 to present
  • NAACP’s ‘Champions of Justice in Civil Rights’ - 2010
  • Loyola Law School 2008 Board of Governors Recognition Service Award
  • California Attorney of the Year, Litigation - California Lawyer Magazine - 2006
  • Finalist, Law Dragon 500
Attorney Articles
Show More

Media Mentions
Show More

Professional Associations and Memberships
  • Consumer Attorneys of California
    • President - 2012 to present
    • President-Elect - 2011 to 2012
    • Vice President - 2007 to 2011
  • Consumer Attorneys Association of Los Angeles
    • Trustee - 2000 to 2003, 2006 to 2007
  • Loyola Law School
    • Board of Overseers - 2008 to present
  • Century City Bar Association
    • President - 2005 to 2006
    • President-elect, Vice President, Treasurer - 2001 to 2005
    • Board member - 1998 to present
  • Los Angeles County Bar Association
    • Trustee - 2000 to 2003, 2006 to 2007
  • Inner City Law Center
    • Board of Directors - 2009 to present
  • National Trial Lawyers Association
    • Executive Committee - 2011 to present
  • Neighborhood Legal Services
    • Board of Director - 2000 to present
  • State Bar of California
  • American Association for Justice
  • American Bar Association
    • Vice Chair, Torts Insurance Practices Section - 2007 to present
  • United Policyholders
  • American Association for Justice - 2013
  • United Cerebral Palsy of Los Angeles, Ventura & Santa Barbara Counties
    • Board Member
Areas of Practice
Personal Injury
Dangerous Drugs
Class Actions
Discrimination Cases
Defective Products
Medical Malpractice
Employment Law
Business Litigation
Consumer Fraud
False Advertisement
  Insurance Bad Faith
Wrongful Death
Disaster Litigation
Premises Liability
Medical Devices
Lender Liability
Intellectual Property
Elder Abuse
Construction Defects
Antitrust Law

  • Loyola Law School
    • J.D. - 1989
    • Honors: Cum Laude, Order of the Coif
    • Law Review
  • University of Southern California
    • B.A. Political Science - 1985